Canada National Occupational Classification (NOC) For 2021 |Explained

Canada National occupational classification

An overview of the National Occupational Classification in Canada, and every essential thing it entails

This web post explains all you should know about the National Occupational Classification (NOC) in Canada, how it works, the jobs under it, how to know the code for National occupational classification and many other things. We will also discuss the Systems used for Canada national occupational classification. This being said, I think it’s high time we get started.

What is National Occupational Classification (NOC)?

According to Kansaz, “the National Occupational Classification list is a database that is created by the Canadian government. It categorizes and classifies all occupations currently available in the Canadian labor market.

Coming to why NOC is used. NOC is used for immigration and job purposes. Job agencies announce jobs by using an NOC code. The NOC code makes it easier to search for job vacancies easily.

Systems used for Canada national occupational classification

Just like in every other setting, the Canada national occupational classification has its own rules and naming guidelines. Each figure you see is an encoded character representing a particular entry. Let’s quickly run through how the NOC codes are being named.

In the Canadian system of NOC, there are:

  • 5 NOC skill levels.
  • 10 NOC skill types.

Canada national occupational classification skill levels, jobs and requirements

There are five skill levels, (national occupational classification skill level 0, a, b, c and d). The NOC skill level classify occupations based on the degree and type of education required for it.

Skill level zero (0)

The skill level zero is specifically made for occupations related to management. These include IT Managers, Marketing Managers, HR Managers, Financial Managers, Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineers and many other job positions.

Skill level A

This skill level is available only professional occupations that usually require a university degree. Common examples are Doctors, Dentists, Architects and many others.

Skill level B

The skill level B of the Canadian NOC is for Chefs, Plumbers and Electricians. It’s set-up for occupations that usually need just a college diploma or sometimes only some apprentice training.

Skill level C

This skill level is made for Industrial butchers, Long haul truck drivers, Food and beverage servers. This skill level is for jobs requiring little formal education. Only a high school diploma is needed.

Skill Level D

The skill level D is for Fruit Pickers, Cleaning staff, and Oil field workers. It’s for occupations requiring only manual labour, nothing else.

See also: Highest Paying Jobs For International Students In Canada 2021

Canada national occupational classification skill types, jobs and requirements

Here, we will look at the skill types under the Canadian NOC. There are 10 skill types.

  1. Skill type zero (0): This skill type is for management occupations.
  2. Skill type 1: skill type 1 is made for occupations related to Business, finance and administration.
  3. Skill type 2: forr occupations related to Natural and applied sciences.
  4. Skill type 3: this skill type is for occupations that are in line with the medicine and health sector.
  5. Skill type 4: this is for jobs related to education, law, and social, community, and government services.
  6. Skill type 5: for occupations related to art, culture and sports.
  7. Skill type 6: this skill type is set aside for jobs involving sales and rendering of services.
  8. Skill type 7: made for jobs involving traders, transports and equipment operators.
  9. Skill type 8: mainly for agricultural and natural resources occupations.
  10. Skill type 9: for jobs involving manufacturing in utilities.
How to know the code for National occupational classification

Knowing the code for national occupational classification, or interpreting a code into a job title is so simple. Once you know the code, or occupation, you can go straight to websites that check and interpret Canada’s NOC codes. The direct link to a Canadian website that does that has been posted close to the end of this webpost.

In general, know that the first digit of most Canadian NOC codes represents the skill type of the occupation.

The second digit represents the skill level.

The third digit is for the major groups and the court digit is for the minor groups.

Below are some NOC codes in Canada, representing the most demanding occupations as at April 2021:

  1. 0111 (Finance Manager).
  2. 0112 (HR Manager).
  3. 0211 (Project Manager).
  4. 1111 (Financial Auditors and Accountants).
  5. 2133 (Electrical and Electronics Engineer).
  6. 3012 (Registered Nurses).
  7. 4163 (Business Development Officers).
  8. 6411 (Sales Associate).
  9. 7511 (Transport Truck Drivers).
  10. 7611 (Construction Trade Helpers and Labourers).

There are many of them, but we can only mention a few.

For interpreting of NOC codes in Canada, or to know the NOC code for your occupation, a website has already been provided for that. See the webpage directly here.